East Wake Republican Club

2014 Candidates

Election dates are July 15 for the primary runoff, and November 4 for the general election.

Races with primaries are listed first. Only races in the East Wake area are listed.
For a complete list of races in Wake County, visit WakeGOP.org.
For a complete list of statewide races, visit NCGOP.org.

*** July 15 RUNOFF ***

Wake County District Attorney
John Bryant, Attorney
Jeff Cruden, Asst DA



U.S. Senate
Rep. Thom Tillis, Speaker of the North Carolina House of Representatives

U.S. Congress - District 2
Rep. Renee Ellmers, current Congresswoman and former nurse

N.C. Supreme Court
Associate Justice Mark Martin, current Associate Justice running for Chief Justice
Judge Robert N. Hunter, Jr., current NC Court of Appeals running for Associate Justice
Judge Eric L. Levinson, former Appeals Court and current Superior Court Judge running for Associate Justice
Mike Robinson, Attorney

Wake County Commissioners
Commissioner Paul Coble
Commissioner Phil Matthews
Commissioner Joe Bryan
Rich Gianni, CFO of Ziptronix, Inc., a local semiconductor company

U.S. Congress - District 13
Rep. George Holding

U.S. Congress - District 4
Paul Wright

N.C. Senate - District 15
Rep. Jim Fulghum, current Representative for House District 49 and Neurosurgeon

N.C. Senate - District 18
Senator Chad Barefoot

N.C. House
Rep. Chris Malone - District 35

N.C. Court of Appeals
Judge William Southern, III, current District Court Judge
Judge Donna Stroud, current Court of Appeals Judge
Judge Paul A. Holcombe, current District Court Judge

Superior Court Judge
Judge Paul Gessner

District Court Judge
Charles Gilliam, Attorney, adjunct Professor of law at NC State, and long-standing member of the East Wake Republican Club.

(other races are uncontested)

Wake County Clerk of Superior Court
Judge Jennifer Knox

Sheriff Donnie Harrison

***NOTE: Being listed as a candidate or potential candidate for any of the offices above does not constitute an endorsement by the East Wake Republican Club or its officers.  This information is being provided as a service to our members and supporters.  This list only includes candidates for offices that are in proximity to East Wake County and for which there are Conservative or Republican candidates.


Special thanks to those who ran in the 2014 Primary!

U.S. Senate
Ted Alexander, former Mayor of Shelby
Alex Bradshaw, Hickory resident
Dr. Greg Brannon, physician and Tea Party activist
Heather Grant, nurse practitioner
Rev. Mark Harris, President of the Baptist State Convention of North Carolina
Edward Kryn, retired physician
Jim Snyder, Attorney

U.S. Congress - District 2
Frank Roche, radio show host and economist

N.C. Senate - District 15
Apryl Major, Republican volunteer and former candidate for NC House

Wake County District Attorney
Jefferson Griffin, Asst DA
Terry Swaim, Attorney

Wake County Clerk of Superior Court
Barbara Moore
Joe E. Teague, Jr.

N.C. Supreme Court
Jeannette Doran, former legal counsel and Executive Director at the NC Institute for Constitutional Law

Wake County Commissioner
Fred Puryear